Watch the ELTons Awards Ceremony live online – Thursday 4 June, 1815-2015 BST

The British Council ELTons Awards Ceremony and red carpet interviews will take place live and online on Thursday 4 June, 1815-2015 BST. Now in their thirteenth year, the awards which are run by the British Council and sponsored by Cambridge English Language Assessment, are the only international awards to recognise innovative products, services and research in English language teaching globally.

The British Council ELTons Awards Ceremony and red carpet interviews will take place live and online on Thursday 4 June, 1815-2015 BST. Join the live-stream here. Check the time where you are in the world.

The awards are organised into six categories: Excellence in Course Innovation, Innovation in Learner Resources, Innovation in Teacher Resources, Digital Innovation, Local Innovation and The Macmillan Education Award for Innovative Writing. There will be one winner in each category and all the winners will be announced at the ceremony.

Anna Searle, Director English Language at British Council said: “This year, we have once again been impressed by the high-standard of the applications and through these awards, we are delighted to be recognising innovative ELT professionals making a significant contribution across many English language fields. The short list also includes some outstanding applications in the areas of young learners, technology for ELT, EAP and life skills, among others.

“The ELTons recognise new innovations and the impact these can have for English language learners, meeting demand and reflecting new learning styles. These awards are a great way to support and showcase the creativity in the sector, and to help to bring new ideas to the wider ELT community. We are looking forward to the awards ceremony in June to celebrate the new ideas that will shape English language teaching in the years to come.”

Here is the schedule for the live-streaming on the night of the awards:

1815-1900 BST: Red carpet interviews with Jamie Keddie; teacher, teacher trainer, writer and a previous ELTons award winner.

1900-2015 BST: ELTons Awards Ceremony, hosted by Angela Rippon OBE, writer and presenter.
The awards will be presented in the following order:

  • British Council Awards
  • Macmillan Education Award for Innovative Writing
  • Excellence in Course Innovation
  • Innovation in Learner Resources
  • Innovation in Teacher Resources
  • Digital Innovation
  • Local Innovation
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award

Find out who has been nominated for a prestigious award here.
Enter our ELTons live-stream Twitter competition

Which ELT luminary do you think deserves to win The Lifetime Achievement Award? Join the debate on Twitter #ELTons2015.

Contribute thoughts or comments, pose questions and share experiences on Twitter using the hashtag #ELTons2015. The most interesting posts will be chosen as winners and win a set of British Council Innovations Series publications. The Innovation Series set consists of the following:

  • Innovations in continuing professional development of English language teachers
  • Innovations in pre-service education and training for English language teachers
  • Innovations in learning technologies for English language teachers
  • Innovations in English language teaching for migrants and refugees

Celebrate innovation in English Language teaching with us on Thursday 4 June, 1815-2015 BST.


Research and insight

We have hundreds of case studies, research papers, publications and resource books written by researchers and experts in ELT from around the world. 

See our publications, research and insight

Sign up to our newsletters for teachers and teacher educators

We will process your data to send you our newsletter and updates based on your consent. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of every email. Read our privacy policy for more information.