ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award 2022

Who should win the ELTon award for outstanding achievement in English language teaching?

The ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award

The ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award recognises and celebrates those who have made a lasting and extraordinary impact on English language teaching and learning around the world.

We invite you to nominate those from across the global English language teaching community who inspire you and others.

Nominations are encouraged from all nationalities, cultural or ethnic backgrounds, genders and first languages, and can include well-known leaders to typically unsung heroes.

We would like to hear who you think has:

  • made a significant contribution to further English language teaching
  • helped shape the English language teaching profession or industry
  • had an impact on a wide audience

How to make your nomination

Make your nomination by sharing, in no more than 150 words, how they best show the three points above, before midnight on Sunday, 12 June 2022. Share your nomination online

Nominations can be individuals, pairs or groups of collaborators, or organisations. You can also put forward more than one nomination.

Your nomination will be entered for consideration by the ELTons’ Outstanding Achievement Award judging panel. The winner will be announced at the ELTons Awards’ Ceremony later this year.

Submit your nomination by midnight on Sunday, 12 June 2022

About the British Council’s ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award

Now in their twentieth year, the British Council ELTons Awards for Innovation in English Language Teaching and Learning find the newest and most original ways to teach and learn English from around the world.

For the last decade, the British Council Outstanding Achievement Award (formerly the Lifetime Achievement Award) has celebrated those who have made a lasting impact on English Language teaching. Nominations come from the community of English language teaching professionals worldwide.

We welcome nominations for individuals, collectives, and organisations.

Nominations are put forward to the judging panel who decide the shortlist and vote for the winner.

Past winners:

2011 Brian Abbs and Ingrid Freebairn

2012 Alan Maley

2013 Brita Haycraft

2014 Michael Swan

2015 Henry Widdowson

2016 Catherine Walter

2017 Ron Carter

2018 Tessa Woodward

2019 David Crystal

2020 Opal Dunn

2021 Prof. N S Prabhu

2021 The A S Hornby Educational Trust


Research and insight

We have hundreds of case studies, research papers, publications and resource books written by researchers and experts in ELT from around the world. 

See our publications, research and insight

Sign up to our newsletters for teachers and teacher educators

We will process your data to send you our newsletter and updates based on your consent. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of every email. Read our privacy policy for more information.