You are here

ELTons outstanding achievement award 2021

No votes yet

Who should win the ELTons award for outstanding achievement in English language teaching?

How to submit your nomination

The ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award recognises and celebrates those who have made a lasting and extraordinary impact on English language teaching and learning around the world.

We invite you to nominate those from across the global English language teaching community who inspire you and others.

Nominations are encouraged from all nationalities, cultural or ethnic backgrounds, genders and first languages, and can include well-known leaders to typically unsung heroes.

We would like to hear who, for you, has:

  • made a significant contribution to further English language teaching
  • helped shape the English language teaching profession or industry
  • had an impact on a wide audience.

Make your nomination by sharing, in no more than 150 words, how they best show the three points above, before midnight on Sunday 27 June.

Nominations can be individuals, pairs or groups of collaborators, or organisations. You can also put forward more than one nomination.

Your nomination will be entered for consideration by the ELTons’ Outstanding Achievement Award judging panel. The winner will be announced at the ELTons Awards’ Ceremony later this year.

Submit your nomination

About the British Council’s ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award

Now in their nineteenth year, the British Council ELTons Awards for Innovation in English Language Teaching and Learning find the newest and most original ways to teach and learn English from around the world.

For the last decade, the British Council Outstanding Achievement Award (formerly the Lifetime Achievement Award) has celebrated those who have made a lasting impact on English Language teaching. Nominations come from the community of English language teaching professionals worldwide.

Nominations are put forward to the judging panel who decide the shortlist and vote for the winner.

Past winners:

2011 Brian Abbs and Ingrid Freebairn

2012 Alan Maley

2013 Brita Haycraft

2014 Michael Swan

2015 Henry Widdowson

2016 Catherine Walter

2017 Ron Carter

2018 Tessa Woodward

2019 David Crystal

2020 Opal Dunn

Add new comment

Log in or register to post comments