The British Council is calling English language teaching professionals around the world to enter the ELTons 2017.

The annual awards, run by the British Council, are now in their fifteenth year and celebrate innovation and excellence in English Language Teaching (ELT) around the world.

ELT professionals can apply in five categories this year:

  • Excellence in course innovation
  • Innovation in learner resources
  • Innovation in teacher resources
  • Digital innovation
  • Local innovation

Anna Searle, Director of English Language at the British Council, said: "These awards are a great way to support and showcase the creativity in the sector, and to help to bring new ideas to the wider ELT community. The award ceremony proves to be a fantastic event, where ELT authors, publishers, and practitioners from around the world can find out more about new innovations and celebrate the new ideas that will shape English language teaching in the years to come."

Any ELT professional can apply for consideration for one of the categories including authors, teachers, trainers and publishers. Application packs can be downloaded from the ELTons web pages.
Applications will be judged by a panel of ELT experts and the winners are announced at a prestigious ELTons awards ceremony, held in London in June 2017.
The deadline for applications is 4 November 2016.